Sorry, this content is not currently available in the mobile view. Switch back to desktop view to access this page.

YHA Oxford

2a Botley Rd, Oxford, OX2OAB, United Kingdom

See us on a map

Overall Rating 76%

From 6 Reviews

Hostel rating (6)

Rating category Satisfaction percentage
Staff 80%
Cleanliness 64%
Location 87%
Security 82%
Service 73%
Comfort 69%
Green rating 73%

Centrally located in the celebrated university city, this modern purpose-built hostel offers amazing value and plenty of great facilities.

  • Dorm
    From $23.17
  • Private
    From $63.08
10 or more people?
yha-oxford

Oxford Hostel

Hostel Oxford

Hostelling International

Welcome to our hostel

Set up base right in the heart of the lively and historical city of Oxford with this modern, centrally located hostel. YHA Oxford is in a purpose-built property next to the train station, ideal for a cheap city break or weekend away.

Enjoy great food in the licensed restaurant or relax in the sunny garden with English tea and cake from the café bar. All rooms have en-suite showers and toilets, and facilities include TV lounges, library, Internet access, laundry and discounted open tour bus tickets are on sale at reception.

Visit all the famous Oxford colleges, the Ashmolean Museum, take a trip to Blenheim Palace, venture out into the city and take a walking tour, glide past the famous botanical gardens and through Christ Church College Meadows, and in the spring/summer take advantage of the fantastic traditional punting experience down the River Cherwell.

Prices

Prices are non-member prices

Dorms - Per guest per night

Beds

Private - Per room per night

Rooms

Important info

  • 24-hour check-in is not available
  • Government-issued photo ID is required to check in.
  • Children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
  • Children under the age of 16 are unable to be accommodated in shared dormitories
  • Children under the age of 18 are unable to be accommodated in shared dormitories unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
  • Children under the age of 17 qualify for a discount on the advertised price at check-in.
  • Membership can be purchased on arrival at hostel.
  • Rates quoted assume guests are not members of Hostelling International or a National Youth Hostel Association
  • A discount of GBP 1.50 (under 18) / GBP 3 (18+) per person per night is available to members on arrival.
  • Prices and product availability is as accurate as possible but may be subject to change during checkout

Facilities

Facilities

Leisure & Fitness

  • Common room
  • Games room
  • Garden
  • TV room
  • Pool table / snooker table

Accessibility

  • Suitable for wheelchair users

Food & Drink

  • Licenced Bar/Pub
  • Self-catering kitchen
  • Restaurant onsite

Facilities - Internet Access

  • Wifi - Free
  • Internet Cafe Nearby

Facilities - In-Hostel Services

  • Booking Centre for HI hostels worldwide
  • Conference Facilities
  • Cycle Rental
  • Cycle Storage
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Library / Book Swap
  • Luggage Room - Available during hostel reception times
Opening times

Opening times

Open all year

Reception:
From 17:00 to 21:00
Check-in:

Get in touch

Get in touch

Tel. +44 345 3719131

Fax. +44 345 3719132

oxford@yha.org.uk

Main attractions

Main attractions

  • Ashmolean Museum (500m to 1km)
  • Blenheim Palace (More than 10km)

See the full list of attractions

Reviews

Reviews

You may have noticed that my overall experience was of a poor quality, while the rest was good. This is because I did not stay at the YHA. I had booked online, and had foolishly assumed that the presented page referred to the following day. It did not; it was referring to a week later, which was of no use to me. Hostelling has changed and not for the better. In order to rake in the dollars you now cater to huge groups, booking well in advance, effectively excluding individuals.

83%

Avatar for Julian

Julian,

Wed 12 Jul 2017

Dear Julia, We accept groups, families and individuals. We currently have few groups staying but there's always a balance. We are sorry you didn't have the chance to stay at our hostel, we hope you do in the near future. Best wishes, YHA Oxford

Manager avatar

YHA Oxford Hostel,

Fri 14 Jul 2017

The hostel is very convenient for the city centre and the front desk staff are nice, but it isn't kept clean. Carpet and bathroom in my room were dirty all week. And it's annoying that the wifi signal doesn't reach the bedrooms.

80%

Avatar for Christopher

Christopher,

Sun 07 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback about your stay in the hostel. We're disappointed to read that you didn't find the cleanliness up to standard. Our housekeeping team do work very hard to try to achieve the best results we can. We realise that we have old carpets but we do everything we can to keep these clean, including a schedule of carpet shampooing. In an ideal world we'd love to replace them all, but we have to plan funding for such repairs throughout the whole network. Bathrooms are cleaned daily, but it's tough for us in shared dormitories with stay-over guests, as we can't clean after every use. Please be assured that we always try to improve and are working hard to ensure that guests leave us giving us high scores for cleanliness. I hope that you had a great time in Oxford and, once again, thanks for the feedback.

Manager avatar

YHA Oxford Hostel,

Tue 09 May 2017

Room smelled disgusting. Wanted to open windows, but then could not sleep due to railway being right outside. Very displeased with the experience after having stayed in YHA Cardiff the night before.

47%

Avatar for Lauren

Lauren,

Wed 07 Dec 2016

Really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to the hostel. I do wish that you'd let us know at the time that you were unhappy with your room, as we could have moved you elsewhere and solved your problems. The housekeepers work hard to alleviate any smells in rooms, but sometimes in the shared dormitories it takes until all the guests check out for us to be able to really freshen the rooms up. I too think Cardiff is a brilliant hostel. We have a large network of hostels throughout the country in all different styles and ages, which makes the hostel network so interesting.

Manager avatar

YHA Oxford Hostel,

Fri 09 Dec 2016

Comfortable beds were "reserved" by other guests.

50%

Avatar for TSUYOSHI

TSUYOSHI,

Sat 01 Oct 2016

Thanks for your comment. All beds in rooms should be equally comfortable - we have the same sort of beds throughout one room and all the same aged mattresses. The beds we reserve (subject to availability) are bottom bunks for anyone who tells us in advance that they have issues climbing to a top bunk. Please do let us know whilst if you're not happy with your bed for any reason and we can always try to offer an alternative. Other than that, I hope you enjoyed your time in Oxford.

Manager avatar

YHA Oxford Hostel,

Mon 03 Oct 2016

Das Hostel war ein guter Einstieg in meinen England- Urlaub, da es relativ zentral (direkt am Bahnhof und trotzdem ruhig) lag. In meinem Sechser- Zimmer war ausreichend Platz, allerdings nur 1 Stuhl. Gut war ebenso, dass es einen sehr geräumigen, abschließbaren Schrank gab. Leider konnte man das WLAN nicht im Zimmer nutzen sondern nur in der Lobby, wo es eher lauter war.

93%

Avatar for Katrin

Katrin,

Wed 14 Sep 2016

Vielen Dank dass Sie deiner Zeit verwendet haben deine sehr positiven Bewertung von unsere Hostel zum posten. Wir freuen uns sehr dass Sie einer richtig gute Zeit mit uns gehabt haben und unsere Hostel gemocht haben. Wir hoffen dass wir Sie nochmal irgendwann bald willkommen dürfen.

Manager avatar

YHA Oxford Hostel,

Fri 16 Sep 2016

Location

Location
Around the hostel

Around the hostel

Nearby attractions

  • Amusement / Theme park (More than 10km)
  • Cinema (500m - 1km)
  • City Centre (At or next to the hostel)
  • Cycle trails (At or next to the hostel)
  • Golf course (Less than 500m)
  • Gym (500m - 1km)
  • Hiking / Walking trails (At or next to the hostel)
  • Museums / Art Galleries (500m - 1km)
  • Nightlife (500m - 1km)
  • Parks / Green Area (At or next to the hostel)
  • Restaurants (500m - 1km)
  • River / Harbour / Lake (At or next to the hostel)
  • Shopping area / Mall (500m - 1km)
  • Swimming pool (500m - 1km)
  • Supermarket / Food store (500m - 1km)
  • Theatre (500m - 1km)
  • Wooded Area (1 to 2km)
Getting to us

Getting to us

Airport
72km Heathrow. 136km Gatwick. Regular buses (24 hours) run from both airports to Oxford.
Bus
400m Gloucester Green Coach Station.
Ferry/Boat
96km Southampton. 128km Portsmouth.
Alternate Transport
500m West of City Centre Along Botley Road A420 At nearby 'Park & Ride - Seacourt' No parking at hostel but drop off bags etc and staff can direct you to the Park and Ride along Botley Rd.
Car
Park & Ride. No parking at hostel.
Rail
Leave station and take right on main road.

Recently Viewed

YHA Oxford