Sorry, this content is not currently available in the mobile view. Switch back to desktop view to access this page.

HI - Marin Headlands

Located just north of San Francisco, in a National Park with beaches, meadows, mountains, and spectacular views of the Golden Gate.

90 %

  • Dorm
    From €26.76
  • Private
    From €64.22
10 or more people?

What travellers think

Travellers that stayed here think this hostel is best for

  • Nature-lovers
  • Relaxing
  • Unique atmosphere
  • Sightseeing

Hostel rating (21)

90 %

Rating category Satisfaction percentage
Staff 94%
Cleanliness 89%
Location 93%
Security 89%
Service 91%
Comfort 85%

Green rating



Generally a great place to base out of for exploring the Headlands. The Annex had a a family with noisy kids that was bothersome and echo'd throughout the house at 6:00AM. No phone reception but internet usable.I rated the Cleanliness poor because there are places in the room that have never been cleaned as evidenced by the cobwebs and dust. Green rating........ Recyclable paper products NO, Solar NO,


Avatar for mark


Tue 03 Nov 2015

Thank you for your review! We do get into all areas of the house regularly for deep cleaning, but nature has a way of quickly creeping in again and we are limited in staff, so we are sorry if the room seemed neglected. We do use 100% post consumer printer paper, paper towels and toilet paper and though the paper towels are not recyclable, they can be composted. Unfortunately because we do not own the buildings in the headlands, we cannot explore our options with solar energy, and I'm not sure we'd get enough sun for it to be beneficial for all of our guests, but hopefully someday we'll have more alternative energy sources to choose from! (Wind turbines would work great out here!) We hope you had a nice stay overall and we'll work on our cleanliness and communication of quiet hours!

Manager avatar


Thu 05 Nov 2015

The place is too run down. It feels the building needs major maintenance- nothing has been fixed since end of cold war. Too many crazy people staying there not social travelers.


Avatar for Richard


Sat 10 Oct 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Was there anything specific we could fix? We do fix our buildings regularly, but there are certain things that can take longer to get approval for because these buildings are historic. Having our customer's input can definitely help move the process along! Our buildings are over 100 years old and definitely are exposed to the elements so we are constantly maintaining them and making sure they are up to code, which may mean that cosmetic fixes aren't as common as structural fixes. We also welcome all guests and managing a communal environment can be challenging, but we keep our doors open. If there is an issue with any specific guest, we address it as soon and as tactfully as possible. Please always feel free to bring up issues to the desk if guests are making you uncomfortable. We are here to help and want everyone to be comfortable in our hostel. Our mission is: Inspiring a genuine understanding of people, places and cultures for a more tolerant world. Which includes all of us humans! Happy travels!

Manager avatar


Mon 12 Oct 2015

Sehr nettes Personal und schöne Gemeinschaftsräume. Das Badezimmer ist aufgrund des Alter der Gebäude nicht so optimal, insbesondere dass die Wasserhähne am Waschbecken nicht abbleiben ist zum Waschen unpraktisch. Alles in allem aber ein sehr empfehlenswertes Hostel, allerdings nur für Leute mit Auto da man sonst dort nur am Wochenende weg kommt.


Avatar for Daniela


Mon 28 Sep 2015

Always wonderful. Older buildings, larger facilities, bring a flashlight to walk around the grounds at night, just great being in the park. You need a car or bike in.


Avatar for Nicola


Sat 26 Sep 2015