What travellers think

Travellers that stayed here think this hostel is best for

  • Sightseeing
  • Partying
  • Socialising
  • Unique atmosphere

Reviews

Very Nice Location. I came after work on a Friday to San Diego for a 50 mile Bike Ride Early on Saturday. Sometimes I come to San Diego for other Reasons. But, they need Air Condition so that we can Close the Windows. This is on the busy Gass Lamp with lots of Clubs blasting Music, People Yelling, Cars playing music. I think that Cool, I like to party too. But, you need to keep the building more Sound Proof. Sometimes I don't come to party.

87%

Avatar for Francisco

Francisco,

Fri 22 May 2015

Excellent location, friendly staff, enjoyable stay. I realize it's an old building, but more convenient power outlets in the room would be good. The private bathrooms are nice, but the lighting is mediocre--with just one ceiling light, the mirror at the sink is pretty dark.

93%

Avatar for Jim

Jim,

Thu 07 May 2015

Thanks for the review and the business. Interesting point you bring up about our restrooms. We will look into getting some more light by the mirrors. The outlets are a little trickier, but hopefully we will look to tackle that project across the next few years. Come back and see us again in the future. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

Manager avatar

SDC,

Sat 09 May 2015

Mon seul problème est l'emplacement de l'auberge. La rue en dessous est trop bruyante même en semaine

90%

Avatar for Christelle

Christelle,

Fri 24 Apr 2015

Your location is awesome. Downtown San Diego at that price can't be beat. I would suggest increasing the water pressure by using an aeration system. Use slightly less water but feel like it's more

100%

Avatar for jeremy

jeremy,

Sat 18 Apr 2015

Thanks for the feedback. We will bring it up with our maintenance department in our next meeting. Come back and see us again soon! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

Manager avatar

SDC,

Mon 20 Apr 2015

This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was a great first experience! I loved that you could bring you own food in, as long as you put your information on it. The dinners for cheap donations really helped with budgeting and the food was good! The only improvement I could suggest is improve the breakfast selection. Adding bagels and cream cheese and muffins, would make a great difference and more fruit.

97%

Avatar for Tiana

Tiana,

Thu 16 Apr 2015

Thanks for the wonderful review and the comments. We will definitely discuss the breakfast options, but it can be a little tricky to add more items and keep our price point as low as possible. We really appreciate the business and the time you took to give us feedback. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

Manager avatar

SDC,

Sat 18 Apr 2015

The hostel is comfortable and clean. However,I would like to see the kitchen set up to make washing dishes easier and less wasteful of water. HI Downtown San Francisco have a sink full of warm soapy water and a rinsing sink available.. I think this helps people in the wash up process and helps keep the place more organised. I am aslo surprised that, given there is a drought in California, there are not more signs at sinks and in washrooms, reminding people to use water sparingly.

100%

Avatar for Margaret

Margaret,

Sun 12 Apr 2015

Thanks for the comments! We have actually just increased our water usage signage this past week, and will be installing a commercial low water usage dishwasher within the next week or so. This will almost eliminate the need to wash dishes by hand and will do full loads of dishes in about 3 minutes. We definitely feel you on the water consumption issue , and we will also be getting some shower timers for people use to cut down on their shower times. Thanks for bringing this issue up as it is very important and we take it quite seriously. We appreciate the business and hope to see you again in the future. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

Manager avatar

SDC,

Tue 14 Apr 2015

to many emails to review my stay. I suggest you fire your over zealous marketing idiot.

20%

Avatar for Frank

Frank,

Tue 31 Mar 2015

Our apologies for the emails you received. We have passed on your comments to our marketing department. Thank you for staying with us. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

Manager avatar

SDC,

Thu 02 Apr 2015

My room, 302, faced the alley with garbage dumpster. On one day in particular the entire room smelled of garbage for hours. It was gross. The ac (window unit) was not placed in a good spot. At night I close the curtains (behind the bed) because I prefer a darker room to sleep in. However, the ac would blow on the curtains and the air did not circulate well so the room would get hot.

80%

Avatar for David

David,

Fri 20 Mar 2015

Thanks for the review and the business! Our apologies for the issue you had with your room. Unfortunately, to have an AC in there we had to put it in the window near the bed. We will look at the curtains though and see if there can be something done there. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. In the future, please let us know when you are here, and we can most likely get you into another room that better suits your needs. Thanks again. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

Manager avatar

SDC,

Sun 22 Mar 2015