Sorry, this content is not currently available in the mobile view. Switch back to desktop view to access this page.

HI - Portland Hawthorne Hostel

The HI-Portland Hawthorne Hostel is a unique, relaxed, communal, and charming eco-hostel with air-conditioning, free kitchen use, lockers, free breakfast (all- u- can make pancakes, cereal w/ milk, and oatmeal) with free tea and coffee, wi-fi internet, free phone and linens and towels. Bike Rentals are available for a small fee.

91 %

  • Dorm
    From €28.54
10 or more people?

What travellers think

Travellers that stayed here think this hostel is best for

  • Unique atmosphere
  • Eco-tourism
  • Socialising
  • Relaxing

Hostel rating (48)

91 %

Rating category Satisfaction percentage
Staff 91%
Cleanliness 89%
Location 95%
Security 92%
Service 93%
Comfort 85%

Green rating



I liked the breakfast and friendly people


Avatar for Don


Mon 05 Oct 2015

I just spent 30 minutes writing why I was unhappy and uncomfortable and what you could do about it to improve and because I "typed more characters than allowed" I am not allowed to continued my feedback. So I have erased what I wrote and am even more inclined to never stay in your hostel again.


Avatar for Diana


Mon 05 Oct 2015

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on the hostel. If you could take a moment and (email me) tell us exactly what was the issue(s) while you were staying here, we would really appreciate it. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay here. Thanks and take Care, Talbot Wallace Hostel Manager

Manager avatar

Portland - Hawthorne District,

Wed 07 Oct 2015

i got sick while in my room. my bunk had a broken matress or something and I was too close to the ceiling. there was no ventilation and the room got too hot..the mt helens one


Avatar for Victoria


Mon 28 Sep 2015

Hi, Thanks for your feedback, we're sorry you had a tough time in the basement. Some folks like sleeping down there, some don't. If you weren't feeling well, maybe next time let us know while you are here and we can see what we can do to accommodate you and make your stay more pleasant. As far as the mattress, we would like to know what it was bc those are brand new mattresses? Feel free to email me directly. Thanks and good luck, Talbot Wallace Hostel Manager gm.hawthorne

Manager avatar

Portland - Hawthorne District,

Wed 30 Sep 2015

Very impressed with the Portland Hostel. Appreciated a very helpful staff, whether by phone, or in person. The 24 hour desk. Great location. Close to public transport and stores of all stripes. Wonderful old house with such character and inviting spaces. Excellent wifi. Love the pastries at breakfast and the fantastic bread, peanut butter. Many thanks for making my stay in Portland memorable - I'll be back and stay longer next time. A new Canadian fan.


Avatar for Mary


Tue 15 Sep 2015