Sorry, this content is not currently available in the mobile view. Switch back to desktop view to access this page.

HI - Phoenix - The Metcalf House

1026 N 9th St, Phoenix, Arizona, 85006, United States

See us on a map

Overall Rating 82%

From 23 Reviews

Hostel rating (23)

Rating category Satisfaction percentage
Staff 92%
Cleanliness 77%
Location 79%
Security 86%
Service 81%
Comfort 75%
Green rating 83%

Located in the heart of the city, is a short distance from transportation, and within walking distance of parks, museums, and shopping.

  • Dorm
    From $29.50
10 or more people?

Phoenix Hostel

Hostel Phoenix

Hostelling International

Welcome to our hostel

Located in the heart of the city, The Metcalf House Hostel is a short distance from the airport, bus and train stations, and within walking distance of downtown, parks, museums, and shopping centres.

We offer a free breakfast, free street parking, kitchen and laundry facilities. As we are a desert hostel we have our front and back yard areas which planted with desert cactus, aloes and shrubs.

As Arizona's capital city, Phoenix has much to offer. The Desert Botanical Gardens at Papago Park features Sonoran Desert plant life. Visit the Heard Museum, renowned for Native American exhibits. Arizona has more Indian reservations than any other state. There are many inexpensive cinemas and clubs featuring blues music. Food Markets are a 12 minute walk. Hike the mountain parks in Phoenix and in summer clear rivers provide cool respite.


Prices are non-member prices

Dorms - Per guest per night


Private - Per room per night


Important info

  • 24-hour check-in is not available
  • Check-in is available between 17:00 and 22:00
  • Please contact hostel if arriving after 22:00
  • Government-issued photo ID is required to check in.
  • A maximum stay of 7 nights applies at this hostel.
  • Children under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
  • Membership can be purchased on arrival at hostel.
  • Rates quoted assume guests are not members of Hostelling International or a National Youth Hostel Association
  • A discount of USD 3 per person per night is available to members on arrival.
  • Pets are not permitted in the hostel.
  • Prices and product availability is as accurate as possible but may be subject to change during checkout



Leisure & Fitness

  • Common room
  • Garden
  • Table tennis / ping pong
  • Terrace / patio


  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Food & Drink

  • BBQ
  • Self-catering kitchen

Facilities - Internet Access

  • Wifi - Free

Facilities - In-Hostel Services

  • Air Conditioning - In selected areas
  • Car Parking at Hostel - Free
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Library / Book Swap
  • Lockers Available - In Room
  • Smoking Area
Opening times

Opening times

Open all year

From 08:00 to 10:30
From 17:00 to 22:00
From 08:00 to 10:30
From 17:00 to 22:00

Get in touch

Get in touch

Tel. 1-602-254 9803

Main attractions

Main attractions

  • Roosevelt Row Art District (500m to 1km)

See the full list of attractions



As with all hostels, inexpensive compared to a motel. I was in a co-ed room, but as the place was not full, it was only men there. Fans are provided for each bunk bed. I didn't figure that out until the next day, and didn't need it, but found that mine didn't work (motor ran but blade didn't spin). Breakfast provided. There was a weenie roast that night, and people sat around in a circle and socialized. There is an internet station, and wi-fi. The piano is decently in tune.


Avatar for Roderick


Mon 22 May 2017

Awesome stay in the Phoenix Hostel. I stayed there only 1 night because I'm doing a roadtrip across the US but if I had to redo it I'll probably stay a few more nights at this incredible place. I was impressed by the cleanliness of the place, the staff is very friendly and the free breakfast is really good. I can't find something bad about this hostel.


Avatar for Celestin


Sun 21 May 2017

i have so many bed bug bites, i cancelled other reservations. the hostel knew in advance they had bedbug problems and sold slots anyway, they refunded my nite stay, i want them to also refund the reservation fees. i have gotten bites before, this place is invested and should be closed, bites on face, neck, both legs/ arms/ elbows, i am pisted off!


Avatar for rollie


Sun 07 May 2017

So sorry that you endured problems with bites. Yes we acknowledge bedbugs are brought into the hostel and that is why we have a extermination policy that we adhere to. We routinely spray of all sleeping rooms every 2nd month and then a heating treatment x2 a year. This time of year I might add is when we have a mosquito problem. We are sorry that you left our Hostel the way you did and we will look into about going about refunding reservation fees.

Manager avatar

005U00 owner,

Tue 09 May 2017

There are bucks and I got skin troube after the stay.


Avatar for SEONJIN


Thu 27 Apr 2017

Sorry to hear you had trouble after your stay. We take this issue very seriously and have a policy that enables the treatment of this issue. Please know that our facilities are treated and exterminated for bugs on a regular basis with a a spray every 2nd month and a heat treatment x2 a year. Take note also that mosquitoes are in abundance and mosquito bites at this time of year are an issue. Contact will be made to you in regards to a refund.

Manager avatar

005U00 owner,

Sat 29 Apr 2017


Around the hostel

Around the hostel

Nearby attractions

  • Cinema (1 to 2km)
  • City Centre (1 to 2km)
  • Gym (1 to 2km)
  • Hiking / Walking trails
  • Local market (500m to 1km)
  • Museums / Art Galleries (2 to 3km)
  • Nightlife (500m to 1km)
  • Restaurants
  • Shopping area / Mall
  • Supermarket / Food store (500m to 1km)
  • Theatre (1 to 2km)
Getting to us

Getting to us

FREE shuttle to the rail/train to 44th/Washington then rail/train to Central Avenue/Roosevelt
Greyhound: #70 Bus north to 24th & Roosevelt street then #10 Bus west to Roosevelt and 9th Street.
Alternate Transport
We are located on the East side of downtown Phoenix on 9th St south of the Interstate I-10 between Portland St. and Roosevelt St.(4 houses north of Roosevelt on west side) 2 blocks east of 7th St. (Major Cross-streets are Roosevelt & 7th Streets) Street parking outside the hostel.

Recently Viewed

HI - Phoenix - The Metcalf House