What travellers think

Travellers that stayed here think this hostel is best for

  • Sightseeing
  • Shopping
  • Relaxing
  • Socialising

Reviews

It is an awesome hostel and one of the best HI Hostels I stayed up to now during my time in Canada. The hostel is only a few minutes from downtown and the C-Train Station away. All rooms (washroom, bed dorm, games room & reading room, kitchen) are very clean and very nice furnished.

100%

Avatar for Michael

Michael,

Wed 07 Jan 2015

Thank you for your compliments on the hostel! The cleanliness and amenities are things we pride ourselves on maintaining for our guests. We are also glad that you enjoyed our central location as well as the free downtown train service. We hope to see you again! Safe Travels, Jason Wong, Manager

Manager avatar

HI-Calgary Front Desk,

Fri 09 Jan 2015

Hotel was great, only issue I'd state is how smelly the rooms can get as a result of lack of ventilation. Got moved once, but as a result of many local workers staying and people involved in winter sports, every morning was greeted with a lingering smell. The staff however were very attentive and did what they could, but unfortunately the only way around it is to open the windows and embrace the winter!

83%

Avatar for Jamie

Jamie,

Sun 23 Nov 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately, having six people to a room, this problem is sometimes unavoidable. However, I can assure you that our staff will continue to be attentive and do everything we can! We do deep cleanings regularly and encourage guests to leave their extra work clothes, shoes, etc. in the storage room. We are glad that your stay was great otherwise. Jason Wong, Manager

Manager avatar

HI-Calgary Front Desk,

Tue 25 Nov 2014

This is a really nice hostel to stay in. It was recently refurbished due to the flood of the previous year. I have to say it was super nice sleeping on a real spring mattress that was comfortable. The staff were lovely, especially a very cheery cleaner whose name I can't recall at the moment. There is no entertainment or bar at this hostel so if you prefer a quieter place to stay then this would be the one. Breakfast was nice with cereal, toast, waffles, coffee and juice.

93%

Avatar for

,

Fri 07 Nov 2014

It’s wonderful that you were able to enjoy our free breakfast and our wonderful staff. Thank you for noticing the renovations from the flood! We are glad that you enjoyed the mattress. The great thing about our location is that while it can be quiet in the hostel, we are only a 10 minute walk away from the downtown core which is filled with entertainment and pubs/bars/restaurants! Thank you for taking time to review the hostel. Happy Trails, Jason Wong, Manager

Manager avatar

HI-Calgary Front Desk,

Sun 09 Nov 2014

Enjoyed the company of other hostellers. It is situated near construction sites at the moment, but this will improve. No noise through the night if you are on the 'right-side' hand of the building but heard others complain about the train noise from the 'front-side' of the building. Where we were was great. Overall very happy with location & facilities. Will stay here again.

83%

Avatar for hothlyn1@hotmail.com

hothlyn1@hotmail.com,

Wed 29 Oct 2014

We need a small lamp or dim light next to the beds. Nobody wants to turn on the dorm lights at night and everyone is using their cell phones to go through their stuff. Also outlets are needed near beds to charge phones or laptops.

90%

Avatar for Miguel

Miguel,

Thu 21 Aug 2014

Thank you for your helpful feedback. As per your suggestion, we've added individual LED bed lights for guest convenience and comfort. Cheers! Jason Wong, Manager

Manager avatar

HI-Calgary Front Desk,

Sat 23 Aug 2014

Une auberge toute neuve avec une immense cuisine et des salles confortables pour lire ou checker ses mails au niveau des chambres. Bonne ambiance générale des routards. Petit déj inclu dans le prix et avec pancakes ! Emplacement un peu à l'écart du centre ville. Prévoyez des boules quies car le tram passe juste à côté et fait du bruit. Sinon auberge top !

93%

Avatar for Julie

Julie,

Thu 24 Jul 2014

Les travaux autour de l'auberge la rende peu accesible surtout lors d'une arrivée en voiture de nuit, et pour trouver le parking c'est encore pire! En dehors de ça bonne prestation

80%

Avatar for laetitia

laetitia,

Sun 13 Oct 2013