What travellers think

Travellers that stayed here think this hostel is best for

  • Nature-lovers
  • Sports & Activities
  • Sightseeing
  • Socialising

Reviews

HI-Banff Alpine Centre is legal. Beds are good, bathroom too. What impressed most was the extremely kitchen organized, which makes life easier for any traveler! This really was a difference in the hostel. Recommend as a legal option of lodging in Banff.

80%

Avatar for Cristina

Cristina,

Tue 24 Feb 2015

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel, your positive feedback about our facilities and your recommendation are much appreciated. Hope to host you again in Summer 2015. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

Manager avatar

Kirsten Miffling,

Thu 26 Feb 2015

Loved the chalet feel of the separate accommodation I was in, Fabulous! Definitely not for the those travellers wanting to Party too hard. Not close to town but close to facilities like small grocery, liquor and even Laundromat if you need it. Great for nature, hiking, quiet reflection. Loved the 'great hall', beautiful.

97%

Avatar for hothlyn1@hotmail.com

hothlyn1@hotmail.com,

Fri 24 Oct 2014

Saturday night featured a few too many drunks coming and going from our room, talking loudly, and hooting and hollering outside until 4am. Don't mind someone stumbling in late, tripping over things, giggling a little, and going to sleep - but this went on and on. A bit too much!

90%

Avatar for Bill

Bill,

Tue 07 Oct 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. Please accept my apologies for the noise you experienced during our quiet hours of 11pm to 7am. We have 24 hour staff at the Front Desk, including a Night Cleaner/Security person who is responsible for doing regular security checks. We also employ an outside security company to assist in these matters. I will be sure to followup with our staff and retrain on noise checks. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

Manager avatar

Kirsten Miffling,

Thu 09 Oct 2014

Great facilities. Loved the food in the cafe. Good bus links to town. Impressive activities coordinator. I was so lucky to arrive the day a walk to The Plain of Six Glaciers.

100%

Avatar for Judith

Judith,

Mon 06 Oct 2014

Thanks for your review, it's always great to hear some positive feedback. I will pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager and our Activities Coordinator. Hope you took advantage of our free bus pass and will stay with us again! - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

Manager avatar

Kirsten Miffling,

Wed 08 Oct 2014

This was our first time in Banff (of many, I hope). Hostel was good value, staff very friendly. On site kitchen was nice & large, and of course being Banff, great views on all sides. Discounted tickets at reception for bikes, buses, gondola etc most welcome. The only minor complaint is that the room and corridors were a little stuffy on arrival, but I put this down to the busy period at the hostel and minimal time for airing the rooms.

77%

Avatar for Matt

Matt,

Sat 20 Sep 2014

Really enjoyed the three nights spent here. Location is spot on and the staff were excellent (especially the guy with dark hair/beard in his what I asserted to be was his mid thirties: sorry if you're younger dude).

93%

Avatar for Kenny

Kenny,

Fri 05 Sep 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our property and for the positive feedback about our location and staff. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

Manager avatar

Kirsten Miffling,

Sun 07 Sep 2014

Good hostel, great stay. Bathroom could cleaner, didn't like the hairs on the ground. Bed was Ok, but I felt the bedsprings during moving..

73%

Avatar for Thijs

Thijs,

Wed 20 Aug 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I will followup with our Housekeeping Supervisor and Maintenance Manager regarding your feedback. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

Manager avatar

Kirsten Miffling,

Fri 22 Aug 2014

IT WOULD BE HELPFUL IF YOU WOULD PLACE MORE WALL HOOKS IN YOUR ROOMS. THE WALLS HAD ENOUGH SPACE THAT AN ADDITIONAL 10 OR MORE HOOKS COULD BE PUT UP. MORE HOOKS COULD SUPPORT MORE CLOTHING, TOWELS, SMALL BACK PACKS, SHOPPING BAGS, ETC.

83%

Avatar for richard

richard,

Sat 16 Aug 2014

Thanks for your review. I will pass on your feedback to our Maintenance Department, excellent feedback we can likely implement. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

Manager avatar

Kirsten Miffling,

Mon 18 Aug 2014