Sorry, this content is not currently available in the mobile view. Switch back to desktop view to access this page.

HI - Banff Alpine Centre

801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, T1L 1B3, Canada

See us on a map

Overall Rating 82%

From 6 Reviews

Hostel rating (6)

Rating category Satisfaction percentage
Staff 93%
Cleanliness 78%
Location 71%
Security 84%
Service 91%
Comfort 73%
Green rating 84%

Welcome to one of the best hostels in Canada. Nestled in the Rocky Mountains this year-round hostel is a perfect base to explore the area.

10 or more people?
hi-banff-alpine-centre

Banff Hostel

Hostel Banff

Hostelling International

Welcome to our hostel

Set in a historic building, the HI-Banff Alpine Centre offers the best of both worlds – the party scene of Banff and a taster of laidback mountain life. The hostel is within close proximity to hiking trails and stunning viewpoints overlooking the valley. The Cave and Basin National Historic Site is a 10-minute drive away.

Banff Alpine Centre boasts many facilities including free public bus transportation, free Wi-Fi, two shared kitchens, two lounges with fireplaces, as well as private and dorm-style rooms. There is an onsite restaurant and a bar that offers free darts, billiards and foosball. The hostel also provides many exclusive deals for guests including ski passes, rafting tickets and job seeker packages.

The town of Banff is located inside the borders of Banff National Park and includes the spectacular Rocky Mountains. Nearby activities include snowboarding, skiing, white-water rafting and hiking.

Prices

Prices are members' prices

Dorms - Per guest per night

Beds

Private - Per room per night

Rooms

Important info

  • Government-issued photo ID is required to check in.
  • Children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
  • Unaccompanied children under the age of 18 can be accommodated only with a letter from a parent or legal guardian providing permission for the child's unsupervised stay.
  • Children under the age of 5 are unable to be accommodated in shared dormitories
  • Children under the age of 5 stay free.
  • Children under the age of 17 qualify for a discount on the advertised price at check-in.
  • Membership can be purchased on arrival at hostel.
  • Rates quoted assume guests are members of Hostelling International or a National Youth Hostel Association.
  • Pets are not permitted in the hostel.
  • Additional tax is payable at check-in.
  • Prices and product availability is as accurate as possible but may be subject to change during checkout

Facilities

Facilities

Leisure & Fitness

  • Common room
  • Games room
  • TV room
  • Pool table / snooker table
  • Terrace / patio

Accessibility

  • Suitable for wheelchair users

Food & Drink

  • Cafe/Bistro
  • Licenced Bar/Pub
  • BBQ
  • Self-catering kitchen
  • Vending machine
  • Restaurant onsite

Facilities - Internet Access

  • Computers - Charges Apply
  • Wifi - Free

Facilities - In-Hostel Services

  • Car Parking at Hostel - Free
  • Booking Centre for HI hostels worldwide
  • Conference Facilities
  • Cycle Rental
  • Cycle Storage
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Library / Book Swap
  • Lockers Available - In Room
  • Luggage Room - Available during hostel reception times
  • Sports Equipment Storage - Skis
  • Travel / Tour Desk
Opening times

Opening times

Open all year

Reception:
Open 24 hours
Check-in:
Open 24 hours

Get in touch

Get in touch

Tel. 1-403-762-4123

Fax. 1-403-762-3441

central.res@hihostels.ca

Main attractions

Main attractions

  • Banff Gondola (5 to 10km)
  • Sunshine Village Ski Resort (More than 10km)
  • Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel (3 to 5km)

See the full list of attractions

Reviews

Reviews

Room 501 - bed very uncomfortable, very squeaky and moved alot. Pillows incredibly flat - get some new ones! Kitchen and common rooms awesome

83%

Avatar for Jessica

Jessica,

Thu 21 Apr 2016

Thanks for the feedback! I will ask our Maintenance and Housekeeping Managers to assess the bed and pillows in that room, please accept my apologies for your experience. Great to hear that you enjoyed our kitchen and common rooms during your stay. - Kiki, AGM

Manager avatar

Kirsten Miffling,

Sat 23 Apr 2016

My room was closed for fumigation on the 17th. The notice given was adequate, in terms of advance warning, the purpose - fumigation with no entry to the room - was not clear in the wording. Had I realized, I might have taken my bathing suit from my bag with me when I left for the day. Not a big deal - better than bed bugs!

100%

Avatar for Pam

Pam,

Mon 22 Feb 2016

Staff friendly, rooms clean. Expensive for a hostel, far from town compared to other hostels, had 5 people in a four person room (someone snuck their girlfriend in for over a week), bar very small

73%

Avatar for Melissa

Melissa,

Tue 16 Feb 2016

Hello, I'm very sorry to hear about the extra person in your room. We have numerous security systems in place, including two staff all through the night, a third-party security company, security cameras, we check guests on the way in for card keys after 11pm and our housekeepers look for signs of extra people in the rooms (although this last one isn't much use if two people share a bed.) However, we can't catch everyone and rely on other guests letting us know if someone is abusing the system and are allowing unauthorized guests in the room. I hope you will consider letting hostel management know if this happens to you in future, whatever hostel you are staying in - it allows us to enhance the security of everyone.

Manager avatar

Ken Campbell,

Thu 18 Feb 2016

Sadly, I got put into a room with someone who was extremely sick and contagious. Only travelling for a month and I caught his infection..which then cost me out of pocket expenses to get better. The man was obviously very sick and the staff should have put him in his own room. Ruined my holiday

60%

Avatar for Gretchen

Gretchen,

Sun 14 Feb 2016

Hi, I'm very sorry you got sick. Unfortunately, we don't segregate people upon checkin based on whether they seem ill or not; I think that approach would be fraught with issues. However, we're always happy to move someone who isn't comfortable in their room. I don't know if anyone has asked us to move them because someone in their room is sick, but it is certainly something the staff would do if asked.

Manager avatar

Ken Campbell,

Tue 16 Feb 2016

Not needing to vacate when changing sheets

63%

Avatar for Lauren

Lauren,

Tue 24 Nov 2015

Thanks for the review. Here's a response from our Housekeeping Supervisor, "It seems my housekeeping staff may have mistakenly noted your door with either a Linen Change notice, a Room Closure notice, or both. Over the winter we do note the doors of our long term stay guests in order to conduct regular cleaning. We do not do this for short term guests such as yourself. It was an earnest mistake by new staff adjusting to a new cleaning schedule. I understand completely if this disrupted your stay. My apologies. Should you stay with us again, I hope you’ll ask for me so I may apologize in person."

Manager avatar

Kirsten Miffling,

Thu 26 Nov 2015

Location

Location
Around the hostel

Around the hostel

Nearby attractions

  • Distance to Amusement / Theme park (More than 10km)
  • Distance to Beach (More than 10km)
  • Cinema (2 to 3km)
  • City Centre (2 to 3km)
  • Cycle trails (At or next to the hostel)
  • Golf course (1 to 2km)
  • Gym (500m - 1km)
  • Hiking / Walking trails (Less than 500m)
  • Local market (2 to 3km)
  • Mountainous Area (At or next to the hostel)
  • Museums / Art Galleries (2 to 3km)
  • National / State Park (At or next to the hostel)
  • Nightlife (2 to 3km)
  • Parks / Green Area (At or next to the hostel)
  • Restaurants (At or next to the hostel)
  • River / Harbour / Lake (1 to 2km)
  • Shopping area / Mall (2 to 3km)
  • Ski area (5 to 10km)
  • Swimming pool (Less than 500m)
  • Supermarket / Food store (Less than 500 m)
  • Theatre (2 to 3km)
  • UNESCO World Heritage Site (At or next to the hostel)
  • Distance to Water park (Less than 500m)
  • Wooded Area (At or next to the hostel)
Getting to us

Getting to us

Airport
130kms to Calgary Airport. Driving from Airport: West on Trans-Canada Highway take Banff exit.
Bus
4km from Greyhound bus station (at intersection of Gopher St and Lynx St).
Car
Parking available at hostel
Rail
130km to Calgary Airport. Driving from Airport: West on Trans-Canada Highway take Banff exit
Sports & activities

Sports & activities

  • Canoeing
  • Hockey
  • Mountain Biking
  • Ski / Snowboarding
  • Walking / Hiking

Sustainability initiatives

Air

  • Low carbon activities
  • Public transportation is promoted
  • Environmental cleaning

Energy

  • Energy saving lights
  • Insulation and ventilation systems
  • Light/energy sensor control
  • Energy efficiency appliances
  • Double-glazing windows

People

  • Working with local community
  • Mission-based activities
  • Educational programs

Waste

  • Recycling areas
  • Composting

Water

  • Water savers in showers
  • Water savers in taps
  • Water savers in toilet

Sustainability labels

Recently Viewed

HI - Banff Alpine Centre