What travellers think

Travellers that stayed here think this hostel is best for

  • Nature-lovers
  • Relaxing
  • Unique atmosphere
  • Sports & Activities

Reviews

I have been recommending this place to everyone, and loved it so much I brought my parents back to see it. Monica and Miguel are so inviting and really make you feel at home. The food is incredible and the horse riding lessons are a lot of fun.

100%

Avatar for Michele

Michele,

Wed 22 Apr 2015

Outstanding. A quiet, super friendly place, out of the city, half an hour from Colonia’s deck, deep into the open fields of Uruguay. Miguel and Monica were more than kind and helpful to my girlfriend and me. Sauna and Pool makes weather perfect. Monica’s meals are really unique. Best Fondue I ever had, and very good wine too. I would go and stay again any time we had the chance. Un placer vecinos, nos vemos pronto! Nahuel and Antonella (Argentina).-

100%

Avatar for Nahuel

Nahuel,

Wed 08 Apr 2015

Great place if you love peace, quiet and nature! The owners really love their animals and share that with all their guests while showing them their great hospitality.

97%

Avatar for Hester

Hester,

Mon 16 Feb 2015

Wonderful location and great staff! We went for horseback riding during a few hours and Miguel is safety minded to a level far above your general place for "cabalgatas" in Uruguay/Argentina. Therefore a great place to start if you don't have that much experience with horses.

100%

Avatar for Gustav

Gustav,

Mon 02 Feb 2015

Thank you for your comment and rating!

Manager avatar

Estancia 'El Galope',

Wed 04 Feb 2015

Lugar incrível, receptividade, limpeza e organização impecável. Sem dúvida um dos lugares mais tranquilos para realmente descansar e sair da correria do dia a dia. Monica e Miguel estão de parabéns pelo lugar. Indico a todos que buscam paz e tranquilidade. A lareira, vinho e bom papo, novas amizades garantido.

100%

Avatar for João

João,

Mon 28 Jul 2014

Muito obrigada por los comentarios y rating! Te esperamos cuando quieras!!! Un placer Monica y Miguel

Manager avatar

Estancia 'El Galope',

Wed 30 Jul 2014

This is one of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in! It has a wonderful relaxing vibe and Monica and Miguel are perfect hosts. This is truly a gem of a hostel and anyone who visits Uruguay must stay there.

100%

Avatar for Louise

Louise,

Wed 04 Jun 2014

Hi Thank you for your comment and rating. Hope you can come again sometime Cheers Miguel and Monica

Manager avatar

Estancia 'El Galope',

Fri 06 Jun 2014

Very nice experience, especially the horse back riding. The dinners are very pricey: 18 USD for fish with rice and a bit of salad, and some bulk ice cream. This does not include washing the dishes, which we had to do ourselves (!). Miguel and Monica were friendly and very agreable to talk to.

87%

Avatar for Alexandre

Alexandre,

Sat 26 Apr 2014

Thank you for your comment and rating. All the best Monica and Miguel

Manager avatar

Estancia 'El Galope',

Mon 28 Apr 2014

From the warm welcome to the heartfelt good-bye, our stay at hostel Galope felt like visiting friends on their ranch. As a hostel, Galope is great. Good facility, great food. If you like horses it gets even better! Miguel is a master at providing a great riding experience for novices as well as experts. It´s clear that he loves his horses. Miguel´s introductory lesson was the best. My favorite part was learning from Miguel all about horses, Uruguay politics and Uruguay´s economy.

97%

Avatar for Dan

Dan,

Sun 06 Apr 2014

Hi thank you for your review ans sorry about the delayed answer. We love this activity and feel like we are having friends home (most of the times) All the best to you Monica and Miguel

Manager avatar

Estancia 'El Galope',

Tue 08 Apr 2014